Would you accept these coins?

Discussion in 'Silver Coins' started by AffinitiSilver, Sep 22, 2011.

1. AffinitiSilver

AffinitiSilver New Member

I'm new to collecting coins and have been slowly buying more for my collection.

I recently purchased 2 x maples and 2 x ASE. Upon inspecting the coins they seem to be a little worst for wear. :(
    Not just simple milk spots but little dents and lots of scratches on both the front and back.

I have posted pictures for your reference. You can see on the ASE near the last sun ray it is completely gone and is now a dent or groove. The maples both look like someones gone over them with fine grade sand paper and has tiny scratches going in all different directions.

My question is would you accept these coins? I actually paid $5.50 premium above spot for these so it wasn't a straight silver purchase.
    Does these defects actually depreciate the value of the coin?

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

2. Lovey80

Lovey80 Well-Known Member

I personally wouldn't spend 5.50 over spot for those coins so from my perspective they are 'devalued' where did you buy them from?

3. goldpelican

goldpelican Administrator Staff Member

That's not a bad premium for ASEs and Maples at all - but effectively you've received circulated coins. You'll never pay spot for these unless you find a very motivated seller - they just don't sell at spot. But for the condition they're in, it's too much.

Now re the condition - they should have been described as circulated or scruffy, they are non-circulating tender, so you do expect to receive them in mint or near-mint condition - not with full scratches or gouges.

At the end of the day they're still silver though. Neither coins have numismatic value even if brilliantly uncirculated - but I can understand you would be annoyed if you were building year sets.

4. hiho

hiho Active Member Silver Stacker