What's a decent stack?

Discussion in 'Silver' started by Lunartic, Mar 11, 2011.

1. Lunartic

Lunartic Member Silver Stacker

Hi

Im new to this, so just wondering what 'size stack' in oz is a worthwhile investment?

While I admit most people would say ALL YOU CAN SPARE, but realistically.. how much cash can we spare these days? You would give up one thing to buy another.

Recently, I've plundered my 'nice watch' fund to buy silver...

I realise I'm at a disadvange buying at an all time high, but what size stack should one aim for in order to have 'some' inflation protection?
    100 oz? 500 oz? 1000 oz? 5000oz?

2. 2ds

2ds New Member

I'd consider this as more of a percentage of savings / investments.

Split it between property / stocks / cash / pms ?

someone else had a nice idea the other day that your age should dictate what % of your pm investment was in gold (as a reflection of how risk adverse you should be)

3. 2ds

2ds New Member

Sorry , to continue, it's worse than useless for me to suggest to you 1000oz is good when you don't have enough money for it. think more in % terms, it should be a better reflection of what you are trying to achieve.

I think everyone in the forum at the moment has probably altered their %'s to be much more PM heavy at the moment as shares are not great and property is ridiculously expensive. cash is performing ok (imho)

4. Dwayne

Dwayne New Member

There's no one answer to that question - it depends on your lifestyle, expectations, phase of life etc.

Maybe you should look at it another way? If you were to come into some money tomorrow, what amount would make a difference in your life? $1,000? $10,000? $100,000? Now how much silver would you require to make that amount of money if it was to double or triple? That might give you some kind of ballpark starting figure anyway.

5. intelligencer

intelligencer Active Member

I agree with the % principle and the 'as much as you can spare" principle.