Silver is Silver is Silver yeah??

Discussion in 'Silver' started by deswa, Apr 5, 2011.

1. deswa

deswa New Member

I'm still very new to this stacking biz but I have read almost the entire forum here, a couple of books recommended by posters and of course read a lot of content online. Having already decided some of my silver will be in numis and the rest straight out stacking, I still have a couple of questions.

When buying silver bars for stacking only, so long as they are .999 or better, is there really a need to pay a premium on some over others? If yes, why? If not, why would someone pay more for some over others? Should I be concerned whether I buy Silvertowne, APMEX, Perth Mint, Engelhard, Sunshine Silver or PAMP? I note that Buffalo rounds are all but the same cost as some of these 1 Oz bars...perhaps they are a better investment.

Or, for a 2-3% premium, would it be better to have some coins such as 2011 SAE's, Philharmonics or Kooks which have stacker and numismatic value?

Maybe I'm splitting hairs. As always, I very much appreciate the input from all forum members.

2. RhythmDoctor

RhythmDoctor Active Member

Hey deswa, I've been buying mainly Silvertowne Bars myself, hit 20oz this week, but am keen on knowing exactly what you've asked.

Lets see what our resident silver sensei's have to say on this...

3. Ernster

Ernster New Member

Yes Silver is Silver as long as its .999 you're good. I wouldnt be buying kooks and other high premium Silver. However I'd only buy Silver that has a recognizable brand name on them.

I think you cant go wrong with Perthmint Bars, Morgan Bars and any of the the names you mentioned will be fine too. A mix will be the best choice just in case...

As far as coins go, I'd just stick with American Silver eagles and Australian 1966 50cent coins.

4. deswa

deswa New Member