Picking when to go ALL IN

Discussion in 'General Precious Metals Discussion' started by zurnaik, May 3, 2011.

1. zurnaik

zurnaik Member

I like the game of poker because I see lots of analogies of the psychology of the game in business, investing/trading and human interaction. To win big you have to bet big, but picking the time to do it is the challenge. The ultimate stakes is going ALL IN.

I have been building up my stack for a couple of years but still with some degree of caution. My stack represents approx 50% of my assets which include cash, small amount of stock and a car that I own outright. Then I have available credit card limit equal to my current stack size. At some point, probably within the next 12 months, I know that I will have to go all in on precious metals. Currency devaluation will become too obvious, countries might default, continued US-sponsered 'destabilisation' of the middle east, degenerating geopolitics, china inflation, Europe going down the toilet, Australian house prices etc. It is all coming to a head. Any change in currency situation is most likely to happen rather quickly either behind closed doors followed by a shock announcement (eg co-ordinated bank/trading/forex holiday) or rampant and sudden hyperinflation. You want to be ALL IN before this point in time.

So you might ask why am I not ALL IN already? Well I am 50% now, which is pretty aggressive to begin with. The stooges of the paper market (COMEX etc) have shown recently that they still have a few hands to play - I am not yet ready to call their bluff. There are still good reasons to keep some spare cash plus I would consider "ALL IN" for me to be a big final purchase where I also use credit cards, convert my super to 100% precious metals and perhaps even sell my precious car (obviously before oil gets to $300 a barrel when no one will buy a car.) It would be a total shift in psychology - bunkering down and weathering the storm.