My first (and only) sovereign

Discussion in 'Sovereigns' started by zlatibor, Mar 27, 2013.

1. zlatibor

zlatibor Member

I'm Jim, and am rather new to the precious metals/coin world.

I was gifted this coin on my wedding day, but know very little about it.

Obviously a gold sovereign from 1887 - I think the Jubilee Head(?) I really have little idea as to its condition or value.

This has sparked my interest in buying more gold coins, but frankly I don't know where to begin!
    :/

[​IMG]
    Source: Author's own

2. Big A.D.

Big A.D. Well-Known Member Silver Stacker

Perhaps a silly question but what is the diameter of that coin?

3. zlatibor

zlatibor Member

Sorry, I should have mentioned that.
    In the absence of a ruler with mm's marked on it, I am reduced to using a dodgy tape-measure... its approximately 36mm in diameter. (Give or take a mm).

4. whinfell

whinfell Well-Known Member Silver Stacker

I am not an expert on sovereigns, but if it's 36mm diameter, I have some bad news for you - it's not a sovereign :(

The good news is that it's a "quintuple sovereign", and worth substantially more :D

Someone more knowledgable about sovereigns than me will be able to tell you more!

5. zlatibor

zlatibor Member

Ha... you kinda made my stomach sink there for a second!

Its quite weighty. I just threw it onto a kitchen scale and it weighs approx 40 grams.

6. Big A.D.

Big A.D. Well-Known Member Silver Stacker

I thought so - there's much more "white space" on yours than a regular sovereign.

So yeah, that's a quintuple sovereign. 1887 was a good year for quintuple sovereigns (highest mintage).

I'm not an expert on pricing but yours seems to be in reasonably good nick so at an absolute minimum, take the spot price of a sovereign and multiply it by five.

7. hyphenated

hyphenated Active Member

Welcome, Jim.