buying lunar horses

Discussion in 'Lunar Forum' started by darkclark, Oct 23, 2014.

1. darkclark

darkclark New Member

as im still new to this im just wondering about the wisdom of buying Perth mint lunar horses now that the goats are out, my local store still has 5 oz coins available but 1 oz all gone should I try and get some 5s before they sell to and how do you know how many are minted if its an unlimited mintage

2. Holdfast

Holdfast Well-Known Member Silver Stacker

You won't know the mintage until The Perth Mint declare the coins.

Perth's mintage policy is here: (This topic has been kicked to death and you could use the search thread for further info)
    http://www.perthmint.com.au/mintage_policy.aspx

Don't get all excited about the 5s because if you are going by the figures on the pdf mintage document they are out-dated and were last updated 29 April 2014 for sales to date as of 31 December 2013.
    By now, you could expect the mintage to exceed the snake, it's probably about the 25 to 30,000 mark.
    http://www.perthmint.com.au//docume...r_Bullion_Series_Two_2008_-_2014_incl_1oz.pdf

When will Perth update their official mintage pdf document?

(Answer) - Probably in the first quarter of 2015.

3. Eruaran

Eruaran Member

4. darkclark

darkclark New Member

the 5s are on special offer at $135 which seems reasonable, my thinking is stock up on these while I still can then move on to 2015 issues when horses all gone

5. idratherbgardening

idratherbgardening New Member

Is there a reason not to buy the 2 oz vs the 5 oz to sell later on?

The 2 oz in the US has recently be $46.50 while the 5 oz is $115 US dollars.

6. dccpa

dccpa Active Member

If you are looking at Apmex, their sell price is $58. The Apmex buy price was recently $46.xx.