Buying from ABC, Sydney

Discussion in 'General Precious Metals Discussion' started by jparrie, Apr 12, 2011.

1. jparrie

jparrie Member

Hi all,

I'm a newbie at buying any sort of metals so this may be normal...

I bought some PAMP 1kg silver bars today from ABC, Sydney at around mid-day. It's now 4.30PM and although I've had the email confirming my order, there's been no other contact at all. Is this normal? I'm guessing that this isn't like trading stocks which is practically instantaneous for an "at market" order, which is what I assumed would happen with this order which was done over the Internet.

The problem is the email states that "all transactions and payment arrangements are finalised in real time during our Sydney office hours."

So have I bought or not? And at what price? Seems awfully slow to me, but then as I said I am a newbie at this.

Please enlighten me!

JP

2. MelbBrad

MelbBrad New Member

You'll get a confirmation email.
    Once payment is completed, it's done.

3. renovator

renovator Well-Known Member

well i know theres a 3 week wait i talked to them the other day did you know that?

4. smithy35

smithy35 New Member

i ordered pamp silver of abc sydney 1 month ago. they told me to ring them at the end of april.thats a 6 week wait

5. jparrie

jparrie Member

Well, now I do. WTF! Quote: "Pick up from our office in 5 weeks"

Not only that, but they've sent me an invoice that is 100% more than it should be!

If there's one thing I hate it's incompetence, so far I've had emails with spelling and grammatical errors, unanswered emails and an invoice double what it should be.

Not impressed. I've told them I'm paying COD so we'll see what they say about that.

So have you paid? Or are you picking up from their office? I don't mind paying but I'd like to see something for my money given that this is the first time I've used them and so far they don't look too sharp an outfit.

6. unfunkable

unfunkable Active Member