How did I do with this trade?

Discussion in 'Silver' started by Lunarowl, Jun 26, 2011.

1. Lunarowl

Lunarowl Active Member Silver Stacker

Hi all,

I'm still a noob with the silver game. In the last few weeks I've been doing some small swaps with members in the forum.

I started with 1x 10oz Southern Cross bars -> traded with 8x 1oz 2007 kooks [the idea was to get more coinage than bar, but then I started getting the urge to collect kooks :p ]
    then 4x 1oz 2007 kook -> traded with 3x 1oz 2010 panda [bought the 2011 panda and was very impressed with the level of detail, surprise surprise.. started wanting pandas too :rolleyes: ]
    and 2x 1oz 2007 kook -> traded with 1x 2009 panda [can't resist, just have to get this]

So ended up with 2x 2007 kook, 3x 2010 panda and 1x 2009 panda. Therefore went from 10oz bar to 6oz various coins with various premiums (40% drop in weight, but $ value wise I'm not sure).

My question is how do you rate my trade decisions and whether you'd consider doing the same? My thinking was coins will do better than bars in the long run, and may not follow the spot price volatility.
    Any advice will be much appreciated. I think I need to work on my negotiation skill (which I have none).

Have a good night!

2. mmm....shiney!

mmm....shiney! Administrator Staff Member Silver Stacker

Mmmmmmm? Will get back to you. Gotta do some math - which is difficult with a bottle of red under my belt. :)

3. hazy

hazy Active Member

I am sure someone else will answer this in greater detail but you are correct.
    if spot goes down and you suddenly need cash you should be able to at very least recoup your investment with the coins.

4. Argentum

Argentum Well-Known Member

think you did a bad deal if you are just starting. If you allready have few hundred oz and you want particular coins then its ok to experiment, but at the begining its all bout increasing your stack not decreasing

5. shinythings

shinythings New Member