When buying shares, how much should you pay?

Discussion in 'Stocks & Derivatives' started by ShinyStuff, Jan 16, 2013.

1. ShinyStuff

ShinyStuff New Member

Whenever a price is quoted it is the final price for day. Cool. But, when you go into it in more depth, you realise that you can post shares at a higher or lower price to sell. Can you ask to buy at a cheaper price??

I am a total noob to BUYING shares. Although I owned some shares when I was an employee of a comp, given as a bonus, and they are long gone now. Am looking to buy very soon, and was not sure what I should do.

If you can buy cheaper, do people usually sell to you??

Thanks in advance.

Shiny.

2. finicky

finicky Well-Known Member Silver Stacker

Each day has an opening (the price of the first transaction of the day), a close, a high and a low. Sometimes these can all be the same, but usually there is a 'range' between the high and low. As a buyer you want to get a bid filled as low in the daily range as possible. As a seller you want to get your offer accepted as high in the daily range as possible.

You can set your bid as low as you want and wait up to a week or more to see if it gets filled. Some buyers are not anxious as to whether their bid gets filled so they lodge a 'stink bid'. This is a bid set so low as to be ridiculous at the time, but sometimes a panic will see sellers accepting any bid at all, and the stink bid gets filled.

If you really want the stock you have to be realistic and set your bid fairly high in the bidders' 'queue'. The only way to fully get it is to dive in and buy something, but buy something relatively safe as a newbie - a quality company with a well known name that pays a decent dividend. Do NOT buy junior mining companies.

3. Holdfast

Holdfast Well-Known Member Silver Stacker

Sure you can ask for a cheaper price, just place a bid at the price "you' are happy with.

Many people use an on-line broker like Commsec to trade shares.

https://www.comsec.com.au/