What's the going rate for gold nuggets?

Discussion in 'Gold' started by swoydaz, Aug 22, 2013.

1. swoydaz

swoydaz Well-Known Member Silver Stacker

Hi ... hoping some stackers might give me a clue?

I'm a relative newbie. The only thing I really know much about is 10 oz PM silver bars. So there's your starting point.

I may be getting some pretty nice gold nuggets soon, maybe 10 to 20 grams. I'll want to keep some and sell some.

What's the typical going rate for nuggets? Spot plus "x" % etc??

BTW: how do you stack nuggets? (sorry about the "dad joke").

Cheers, Alf

2. Aurora et luna

Aurora et luna Well-Known Member Silver Stacker

The last time I sourced some nuggets it was a straight swap - gold Sovereigns for nuggets weight for weight.
    Always looking for good quality nuggets, so give me a yell when you get some. :)

3. mdbruhn

mdbruhn New Member

Yeah total Newbie here, but I would suggest that purity throughout the nugget could be an issue. How do you know that for sure other than specific gravity.
    If it isn't 999.9 which a nugget probably isn't in any case, then you are asking a premium for collector value if you want over spot price for the weight of the nugget.

I am pretty ignorant of the market realities here on this forum, that is I'm reluctant to pay a premium for anything :cool:, but I have seen enough deals done elsewhere, in other commodities, to know that the "going rate" isn't the only rate.

Don't know if there is any useful logic in there for discussion, but that's my contribution ;-)

4. Aurora et luna

Purity for most of the nuggets I have bought or traded has been between 85 - 96% fine gold.
    You also have to factor the residual ironstone, quartz and muck that sometimes comes with the nugget
    I use .916 to average it out and so far its worked out OK

5. goldpelican

goldpelican Administrator Staff Member

Depending where the nugget is from, purity can be up to 99%.