What do you suggest?

Discussion in 'Silver' started by Cain, Jun 6, 2012.

1. Cain

Cain New Member

I am brand new to collecting Silver, bought my first coin over the weekend. I am actually making silver a part of my budget (college student, working full-time). My goal is to collect silver coins that are fine silver .999, here is the coin I am looking at starting: http://www.apmex.com/Product/65202/2012_1_oz_Silver_American_Eagle.aspx

I am wondering, is this a good coin to start collecting? I can get about 7 of these per month.

Thanks for any and all help.

2. mmm....shiney!

mmm....shiney! Administrator Staff Member Silver Stacker

3. Cain

Cain New Member

Thanks, so they are the recommended coin for collecting?

4. mmm....shiney!

mmm....shiney! Administrator Staff Member Silver Stacker

Not a collector's coin, just a "bullion" round with the added advantage of a face value. In your position, they would suit your budget and goals and they're pretty.

5. Xizang

Xizang New Member

Good luck with budgeting yourself just 7 per month. I've developed an addiction and keep breaking my own limit as to how many to buy per month. Seems I love to shop and spend money. But because I'm telling myself it's okay, 'cause I'm really SAVING for the future, I'm constantly broke!

6. Earthjade

Earthjade Member

My only suggestion is to think about adding some 10oz bars into the mix.
    If you save for 3 months, you could buy 2.
    You save a little money per ounce, so you get more silver for your dollar.

7. Hoth25

Hoth25 New Member

Suggest also thinking about Property. Even after possible/likely crash (inc house prices), your loan value would also be devalued once the printing presses have rolled in earnest (though inflation and even possible hyperinflation)

8. 1for1

1for1 Well-Known Member

Hi Cain,