Valuing collectable coins and semi-numismatic coins

Discussion in 'Silver Coins' started by Prospector Stone, Feb 24, 2015.

1. Prospector Stone

Prospector Stone Member

Hey stackers,

I'm new to stacking and I was hoping to ask advice from you on where I can find the value of coins.

Could you point me in the direction of a place on this forum where the values of coins are? Or is there a book I should study?

At the moment, I'm interested in Semi-numismatics with high premiums (so far I've just got some Panda's) I also quite like Australian pre-decimal coins particularly Crowns and I am also looking at uncirculated $2 remembrance day coins.

Any advice or insights will be greatly appreciated as I am green and there is so much to learn!

Thanks a lot!

2. Miloman

Miloman Active Member Silver Stacker

Hmmm...

When it comes to Numismatics I think there are other excellent forums. I've found this is mainly for stackers although there are a few here with numismatic knowledge, there doesn't seem to be a lot of conversation about it. Pre-decimals are a pretty interesting area.

My suggestion is to join numismatic forums and attend any numismatic meeting and/or coin fairs near you.

My novice advice is:
    * Learn to use a loop
    * Learn the high point of a particular coin and how it can wear
    * Go slow

3. argento

argento Well-Known Member Silver Stacker

Hi P.S.

Firstly welcome to the forum.

The forum has its own Numismatic section and a large number of members are extremely knowledgeable in this field.

I also found when I first joined the forum, that attending one of the monthly silver stacker meets is also another avenue for obtaining and sharing knowledge.

Would suggest getting to know some coin dealers in your area.....I think you will find if you attend a meet, they should be able to advise which dealers are reputable.