URGENT - Different Finish on new Silver 1oz 2008 Mouse?

Discussion in 'Lunar Forum' started by mmissinglink, Nov 16, 2012.

1. mmissinglink

mmissinglink Active Member

I am brand new to collecting Perth Lunar coins but I may have come across something very unusual. About 5 months ago I purchased a single 1 oz bullion Mouse (series 2) from a seller on eBay. Then, less than 2 months ago I purchased a sleeve of 20 shrink wrapped (allegedly a Perth Mint sleeve) from a different seller. When I compare a coin from the sleeve to the single I purchased earlier, there is a difference in part of the finish. On the coin from the sleeve, the mice and pumpkins are proof-like shiny but on the single coin, the pumpkins are less shiny than the 2 mice. Has anyone seen this or heard of any finishing changes the Perth Mint did at some point in the minting process?

Does your 1 oz silver Mouse have very shiny pumpkins (shiny as the 2 mice) or are your pumpkins less shiny than the mice?

What could account for the different finish? Would the Perth Mint be able to answer something like this....my guess is no based on what I read other's experiences have been with the Mint.

Thanks for any serious suggestions.

2. Lunarowl

Lunarowl Active Member Silver Stacker

should be semi frosted.. pics please?

3. unfunkable

unfunkable Active Member

post a pic up ...i'm at work so can't look to see what mine are like
    one could be a proof?

4. mmissinglink

So, I looked at the 2 coins above side-by-side more closely. On the first, only the mice are mirror-like shiny. The pumpkins and straw are matte. While on the coin from the sleeve of 20, the mice are mirror-like shiny and the pumpkins and straw are not matte but rather in-between matte and mirror-like shiny. The finish definitely looks different on the 2 coins. The design looks identical but the finish doesn't.

5. mmissinglink

okay...will take pics shortly....wow....you folks are super quick to respond...thank you!

6. unfunkable