UK Stackers, best value silver/ purchases in Blighty?

Discussion in 'General Precious Metals Discussion' started by PhilDaSilva, Feb 3, 2014.

1. PhilDaSilva

PhilDaSilva New Member

Hi all,

Still pretty much a pm stacker newbie here but am looking for the best value PM buys in the uk though silver is my main target as its easy to find and relatively cheap. Anyone care to offer advice or answer a few questions?

My current strategy is as follows: Silver, Gold or Platinum within 5% or 10% (or better) of spot price where possible which requires some self discipline for sure, this includes 925 sterling as there's plenty of it about and most people will accept spot price 7/10. Coins in sterling 925+ silver at less than 20% over spot (30% if its a rare coin, pretty or special and or very desirable) as a coin is a coin esp when it has Queen Lizzies head on it as most people will at least recognise it has some value. Any thoughts on this strategy?

Am I being mean in refusing the pay the 20% VAT on bullion silver when gold/plat would take me much longer to accumulate on my limited income?

Also note I am finding 925 sterling junk jewellery, coins etc at +/- 5% of spot price quiet regularly at flea markets etc though I know 925 does not have the liquidity of 999 silver bullion yet pence per gram 925 sterling seems to give me a better price, pro/cons anyone? (I do calculate for -7.5% value with sterling on spot prices)