Transfering BTC and LTC

Discussion in 'Digital Currencies' started by TreasureHunter, Nov 20, 2013.

1. TreasureHunter

TreasureHunter Well-Known Member

Hi,

I'm new to cryptocurrencies, just learning about them.

I have some questions about how transfering them actually works.

Suppose someone buys BTC on CoinBase or Mt.Gox or elsewhere... that can be directly transfered to BTC-e to buy LTC without using any wallet, right?

And you can keep your cryptocurrencies at these exchanges without ever using your wallet, correct?

And you can buy-sell on BTC-e and, suppose you sell all cryptos for dollars and then you can take your dollars out, right?

I read somewhere that your cryptocurrencies "aren't safe" leaving at the exchanges, because someone could hack into your account and steal them.
    So I guess "overnight" you can simply transfer them into your "wallet"... Correct?

Suppose you erase your wallet (I think actually there's a single file that can be placed on a USB stick)... it gets lost? No other way to get the BTC back? Will that BTC disappear from the World, like no-one will ever get it back?

Suppose you have BTC in your wallet then... and you want to transform it into USD. You turn to an exchange, sell them for USD and take the USD out via money transfer etc./other means?

Thanks in advance - if anyone can answer. Just my curiosity ;)

2. beeteecee

beeteecee New Member Silver Stacker

Basically yes. Each site provides you an address you can send/recieve from.

Correct, you don't need to run wallet software, although that's definitely not the security conscious way. Those sites ultimately control the address you use with them, and if they want to take your money, it's gone.

Kind of. I haven't used btc-e for a long time but sign in and go to Finances and click to withdraw USD. It will show you the options. Otherwise sell the btc to someone like coinjar, it's a lot safer than dealing with btc-e.