So is silver an investment or a hedge?

Discussion in 'Silver' started by Ilikemetals, Apr 18, 2011.

1. Ilikemetals

Ilikemetals Member

I'm still new to how investing in precious metals works. So i wanted some advice. I always thought that if the value of silver raised significantly past the amount in which you initially paid for it, then you would make a profit.

But i've read in a number of places that it's not that simple, because PMs go up in value during periods of inflation when fiat decreases in value and people need a hedge to protect their wealth. Does this mean that silver stays at relatively the same value or purchasing power as before, simply because the more $ it is worth buys less stuff than it could in the first place?

What about the laws of supply and demand? As more people flock to buy the silver, there will be less available silver to purchase and so the price goes up. When we start to see SHTF there should be a global rush of millions of people (including billionaires) that rush to get as much physical PMs as possible. The whole situation may get even more exacerbated when people realise that not that much physical actually exists because all those funds that issue out paper silver in the billions actually have very little REAL silver in their vaults (Even perth mint has articles on this, let alone American equivalents). Should these factors not increase the actual purchasing power of silver? How is silver just a hedge when it becomes a scarce resource thhat many may want a piece of...

I've also heard from many sources that silver supply is struggling to meet industrial demand for many technologies such as solar panels. Again another source of demand is industries that need silver, not just the investors like us.