SMSF and AUSTRAC reporting

Discussion in 'Superannuation' started by goldpelican, Dec 23, 2010.

1. goldpelican

goldpelican Administrator Staff Member

Here's a thought... if selling metal in a private sale from your SMSF, do the AUSTRAC rules for bullion dealers apply? I.e. if I sold some physical gold held in my SMSF for $11,000 cash to a private buyer, would I need to make a report to AUSTRAC on behalf of my fund?

Similar question re selling $5,000+ worth of bullion - would my fund be required to follow "Know Your Customer" customer identification procedures? That's a bit dubious, expecting SMSF trustees (whether private or corporate) to hold and maintain personal identification documentation of someone just because your fund sold metal to them.

Guess the question really is, "is a SMSF considered a 'reporting entity' by AUSTRAC?".

2. Big A.D.

Big A.D. Well-Known Member Silver Stacker

Disclaimer: I am not a lawyer. I am certainly not your lawyer. Seek professional advice if this is topic is an issue for you.

Probably not.

You're only a reporting entity if you're providing a designated service in the course of "carrying on a business".

If you're "carrying on a business" your SMSF would likely be breaching the ATO's "sole purpose" test for SMSFs which are supposed to exclusively providing retirement benefits for its members and not carrying on a business.

Realistically, you would deposit the cash into your SMSF's bank account and if it is more than $10,000 then they would report it to AUSTRAC under their reporting obligations. You may be required to provide documentation relating to the sale later if somebody asks you (which you should have anyway for your SMSF's annual audit) , but no, you probably don't have to register with AUSTRAC because otherwise everyone who bought or sold shares and real estate would have to register as well.

3. Willow

Willow New Member