silver coins and premiums

Discussion in 'Silver' started by goldpanner, Jun 17, 2011.

1. goldpanner

goldpanner New Member

Hi

As I am fairly new to stacking I am surprised at the high premiums paid for some silver and the varying premiums (especially on Ebay). Some coins and bars are less popular than others for no real reason but some are obviously rarer which accounts for the difference, but what will happen when the price of silver does skyrocket? I can see that premiums will no longer be an issue - an ounce of silver will be valued at an ounce.
    I remember when the price of gold peaked in 1980 and people were lining up outside the Perth Mint to melt down their gold plated jewellery, antique jewellery etc.
    All 'aesthetic value' became irrelevant.

2. Naphthalene Man

Naphthalene Man Active Member Silver Stacker

Silver is still silver and generally has the baseline spot value. The trick is to find the out-of-favour items and get them while they are cheap.
    I love britannias but i'm not going to invest all my money in those when for the same money i could be getting extra ounces in purchasing other items. I just get some of these coins to play with.

3. Ag

Ag Well-Known Member Silver Stacker

This is a great point and why I don't buy high premimum/numi Silver...

e.g buy a Koala today ~$44 buy ,a Proof Koala with COA today ~$88

...in X number of months/years,will the 2:1 ratio maintain? i.e will the Proof be worth $200 when the round is $100? possibly...ok what then when the round is $1000 - would the proof be worth $2000? how many buyers could you find?

These might not be fair figures to compare,but I'm sure you get my point - during a Bull market, premiums will shrink (or at least max out) at a certian level - an ounce stacker percentage wise would do better IMHO

Above isn't a stab at those who choose these items...just my opinion...

4. goldpanner

goldpanner New Member