Refining Sterling Silver

Discussion in 'Silver' started by JoryLeBlanc, Jan 23, 2018.

1. JoryLeBlanc

JoryLeBlanc New Member

I am new to the silver stacking community but already love it as a hobby and investment (long term). I have bought my first silver bullion pieces and now am looking into refining silver and casting it myself into bars to add to my collection. I have about 10oz of sterling silver. My questions are: is there a way to refine silver without using nitric acid? Is silver lost during the refining stage and if so, how much? What would the .999 silver yield be from 10oz of Sterling silver roughly? Is the process of refining with nitric acid very dangerous or will simple precautions be sufficient? Thanks guys! Also any advise, tidbits of info, or anything at all about silver is very much welcome!
    J. LeBlanc
    South Side Silversmithing, Inc

2. Ipv6Ready

Ipv6Ready Well-Known Member Silver Stacker

Start here https://www.youtube.com/user/sreetips/videos

And there are many more vids on youtube and likely members who can help.

Though unless you plan to refine hundreds of ounces, its not profitable. However a lot of fun if you are so inclined.

And welcome to the forum.

3. Jislizard

Jislizard Well-Known Member Silver Stacker

Sell your sterling and use the money to buy pure silver.

There are quite a few ways of refining silver, some use sulphuric acid, but all require time, equipment, chemicals and a bit of expertise. If all goes well then you just follow the instructions, but if your chemicals are contaminated or your concentrations/timing/temp is off then you end up with no silver and a funny coloured liquid that you have no idea what to do with. If you are a chemist then by all means have a go.

"Cody's Lab" is a good Youtube channel where he refines various metals.

That should get your silver to around 95%+ depending on what other metals are in, probably higher but not bad.