Purchasing power of precious metals rise during currency crisis?

Discussion in 'Currencies' started by Scryed000, Mar 3, 2014.

1. Scryed000

Scryed000 New Member

Hello everybody.

I'm new to investing in metals and I'm trying to find out how precious metals will be in a currency crisis. Does the purchasing power of the metals rise or does it simply just go up with inflation if that makes sense? I recently watched this video about hyperinflation in Zimbabwe.
    A loaf of bread cost trillions of zimbabwe dollars, but it only costs 0.3 oz of gold. Thanks for anybody that can help.

2. Clawhammer

Clawhammer Well-Known Member Silver Stacker

in todays prices 0.3 ounces = $13 doesn't it?

that's a pretty expensive loaf of bread

3. Gilligan

Gilligan Member

0.3oz au = 450?

4. whinfell

whinfell Well-Known Member Silver Stacker

Huh? 0.3 oz of gold at A$1500/oz is $450. That's a REALLY expensive loaf of bread!

5. Scryed000

Scryed000 New Member

Sorry I got it mixed up. It's actually 0.1 grams for a loaf of bread. here's the vid. You can check it out.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7ubJp6rmUYM

6. trew

trew Active Member Silver Stacker

Buggered if I know but I do know I'd prefer owning something physical than fiat in any sort of currency crisis

7. Argentum

Argentum Well-Known Member

0.3 grams according to youtube videos i watched about a year ago. 1 gram a day for family to survive

8. Gilligan

Gilligan Member

12 ounces a think year to survive. $18000 at today's prices. Makes you think, huh?

9. TreasureHunter

TreasureHunter Well-Known Member

What are you talking about? 0.3 ounces = 450 USD! :eek::eek::eek:

That's terribly expensive!

If you could live out of 0.3 ounces for an entire month, that would be more credible.

Even 0.03 ounces per bread would be horribly expensive: 45 USD per bread?

Try 0.003 ounces: 4.5 USD pe bread. Gosh, that's still horror! :(

10. TreasureHunter

First of all, 0.3 oz of gold is terribly much. That's 450 $ currently.