"Premium" rounds?

Discussion in 'Silver Coins' started by SilverKendo, Jan 5, 2014.

1. SilverKendo

SilverKendo New Member

Hello all,

I'm still new to stacking at this point and it is only making up a small part of my long term investments. My goal is to buy two one-ounce coins per month as investment and maybe some junk here and there. i might add a coin or two if I get some spare cash working over time. I really like Maples, Philharmonics, Eagles, Britannias and Libertads and those are the focus on my stacking. I am averaging about $25 per coin including premiums and shipping (I'm a little lazy and like having my silver show up at my doorstep). I've noticed on ebay most of these coins sell for about $27 or so including shipping. I know most rounds sell for a bit less (which is the point) but there are a few that sell for as much as a coin such as the Scottsdale Omnia, SBSS Freedomgirl or the Zombucks for examples. I know silver is silver is silver but I like coins because of the gov. mint backing and the face value on them. I just feel safer with them. So my question is why are some of these rounds which I thought were supposed to be a cheaper alternative to coins commanding price equal or higher prices than coins? Is it just because they have superior design compared to other rounds? I'll admit I really like the Scottsdale Omnias, the lion is very well executed. Do these higher end rounds really deserve the higher premiums compared to actual coins? Any thoughts?

Unrelated what is up with copper rounds? They range from $1.00 to $3.00 per round. Copper is $3 something per pound!?! That doesn't seem like a great deal. Maybe they are appealing to a collectors market more than bullion market?

Cheers,
    Chris

2. 10ozhound

10ozhound Active Member

The closer you look the less you will see.

At 2oz p/month go nuts with whatever appeals to you.

3. Silver Octopus

Silver Octopus Member

People will ask more if other people are willing to pay more...