Perth mint gold coins

Discussion in 'Gold Coins' started by jalbyau, Jan 3, 2020.

1. jalbyau

jalbyau New Member

Hi, I am new to this and seeking some advice with buying coins. I have been thinking about dipping my toe in the water and buying some Perth mint gold coins.

I was looking at possibly buying some 1/10 perth mint lunar coins, I notice they have quite the premium on them. Is the premium recoverable if sold down the track ?
    or should I go for the larger fractional or 1 oz coins with the lower premium. I feel the smaller coins may be easier to sell down the track but I am worried the gold price would have to increase significantly to recover the premium.
    Any thoughts you have are appreciated.

2. StewyD32

StewyD32 Well-Known Member Silver Stacker

The smaller the Au coin/bar is, the more the premium is due to the liquidity of the size compared to the larger sizes.

Recovering the premium?
    If the coins/bars are generic then the premium is recoverable based on the Au price. If the items are lunars etc it depends on not only the Au price when selling but the design, as these have been increasingly difficult to recoup premium due to current market sentiment for these types of items.

As you start to stack Au, you will find out what type of stacker you are pretty quick.... A stacker which likes a series and pays a premium for it as a collector, or a stacker who doesn't see the reasoning for the premium as gold is gold so anything close to spot is best.

Silverbullet82 likes this.
  3. 66rounds

66rounds Well-Known Member Silver Stacker

In my view this question depends on how much cash you are intending to convert to metal. If you are looking to buy one or two fractional coins, don't sweat a $30 premium. By year end you'll be near parity. If you are about to drop 100k on gold, it would be crazy to buy it all in 1/10. Get yourself a comfortable amount of fractionals and get low premium stuff for the rest.