Panda Market Prices - Confused

Discussion in 'Modern Chinese Coins & Medallions' started by Dave92029, Feb 8, 2012.

1. Dave92029

Dave92029 New Member

I'm a NewB from the US who has just recently purchased his first three Silver pandas.(2009, 2010, 2011) I feel most comfortable buying NGC MS69 coins.

The prices being asked for Silver Pandas seem all over the place, more than I have seen when buying US Coins. I have read this forums Pandas beginners guide which I appreciated. I hope by buying coins which have been graded by NGC that I can avoid getting a fake.

I'm aware of Pandamerica's book and price guide, but after looking at their web site's prices asked for the coins they have for sale, I Ihave decided not to bother with their price guide.

I recently purchased a 2009 30th Anniversary NGC MS69 for us$84 including shipping. This same coin is offered by a variety of sellers on ebay with prices ranging from $84 -$400.

It confuses me why so many people with the same coin will offer it for sale at such a hugh price range. I understand that the mintage on the 2009 Silver 1 oz. coin was approx. 600,000 so there are plenty of these coins available, they are not rare.

My question is there a place to see what the fair market value of NGC MS69 coins are?

Does anyone know what the population reports for the 2009, 2010, & 2011 are in MS69?

Thank you in advance for assisting this confused newB

2. tamo42

tamo42 New Member

The Chinese coin market is still very young and immature. As a result price volatility is high. The *average* range of a Chinese modern coin is 50%.

As for fair market value, who knows. It's whatever a buyer and seller agree to :)

3. fishball

fishball New Member Silver Stacker

Welcome :). It's great to be in the US, many bargains to be had right now.