NEW TO BUllION HELP ME DECIDE

Discussion in 'Silver' started by Silverbug23, Feb 26, 2011.

1. Silverbug23

Silverbug23 New Member

Hey Guys

So im looking to move my savings into silver or gold. I've no experience with bullion but i know fiat money cannot be trusted.
    I roughly have about 15000, now do i buy silver or gold?

I live in the uk and to buy silver i am paying premium plus 20% VAT (value added tax) that is roughly 25% - 27% over spot if i chose to take physical delivery, which i think is the only way to go. Gold has no VAT but im still leaning towards silver becuase i think it still so undervalued.

So should I bite the bullet and pay that extra 20% on silver or just go with Gold.

i apprecaite any adivce on this subject

2. Boyo

Boyo Active Member Silver Stacker

The answer might depend on how much volatility you can handle.Silver might be undervalued at the moment ,but the fluctuations in price are much bigger than gold.

If you plan to hold your metals for a fair space of time silver might be the best option. ..you have to decide what strategy suits your needs.

Why not have a bit of skin in both games? I hold about 10 to 1 silver to gold .That ratio seems right for me.

3. Nugget

Nugget Well-Known Member Silver Stacker

4. intelligencer

intelligencer Active Member

Definitely both.

Given the 20% penalty on silver I'd go lower on silver than otherwise.

10,000 in gold and 5000 in silver would be nice.

5. THUCYDIDES79

THUCYDIDES79 New Member Silver Stacker

Are you able to buy the gold and than do Swaps for silver and thus avoid vat?

6. f40

f40 Member

Why not just take a nice train ride over to France / Belgium for the weekend and buy your silver there? (Is silver VAT free in mainland europe?)

7. Bulawan pilak

Bulawan pilak New Member

I Think long term Gold and Short term Silver to create more Gold wealth..... so it depends on what you are saving towards and how long you can save for.