New Stacker UK

Discussion in 'Welcome New Members' started by Travelgall, Jun 17, 2013.

1. Travelgall

Travelgall New Member

Dear All, been on the site since last week when I was looking for something new to collect. I'm getting towards the end of having a Historic Chinese Panda set, a Historic Britania set. I've stacked a lot of the Canadian Wildlife Series, and as that comes to a close I've been looking for something new.

I got the bug after picking up a couple of Indian Rupees in Burma 2 years ago. I've nearly got a complete set of British India Silver Rupees (still need the 1939 one though). I love to travel and have been to around 38-39% of the World's contries (90 odd different countries) and the Bullion coins are a nice way to remember these places. I also switched jobs and my current role doesn't give me a pension, and Silver Bullion seemed a nice way of saving long term for a pension without paying horrible management fees. I'm an ex City trader with tier 1 Investment Banks and am a current British Army Reservist.

My aim in life is to avoid paying 20% VAT on Bullion coins.

2. Altima

Altima Well-Known Member Silver Stacker

Hi and welcome aboard!

That is a good aim in life I must say!

3. dune

dune New Member

Hi from a fellow uk stacker

4. chrissilver

chrissilver Member Silver Stacker

Nice to meet you. It's always nice to know of a fellow UK stacker. And this 20% VAT is a killer. Luckily us Brits can still source silver coins at 7% VAT from Germany. But I heard that this might be going up to 19% in Jan 2014.

I think collecting coins from each country you visit is an awesome idea, but I imagine it is hard to actually locate a bullion dealer in each of these countries, especially if you are not traveling near a main city?

5. Travelgall

Travelgall New Member