Need help on Capital Gains Tax

Discussion in 'General Precious Metals Discussion' started by ozxlnc, Jan 1, 2011.

1. ozxlnc

ozxlnc New Member

To the experts in the trade...

Here's my question:

If I purchase a collectible (silver coins) worth less than $ 500 at 10 different times, would I be paying CGT if I sold all my coins in one transaction?

**FYI I am new to Gold/Silver markets, want to know more about savings on my taxes.

Cheers....

2. reflection

reflection New Member

http://www.ato.gov.au/individuals/content.asp?doc=/content/00208572.htm&page=12#P283_26669

"If you dispose of individual collectables that you would usually dispose of as a set, you are exempt from paying CGT only if you acquired the set for $500 or less on or after 16 December 1995."

Your coins are not "usually dispose[d] of as a set" and so each is treated individually.

I am not a tax expert but I can read the ATO site. :D Naturally you should ask a tax expert :)

3. personhead

personhead New Member

is a roll of 20 kooks a set?

4. projack

projack Well-Known Member Silver Stacker

Roll of 20 kooks are not a set, but you can not say you acquired them individually unless you take off the plastic wrapping or you have at least the 2010 or earlier version. With 1995 or earlier kooks you should be ok even with a monster box if you are a long time collector.

5. goldpelican

goldpelican Administrator Staff Member

Bullion != collectibles. If it's a bullion coin traded on it's intrinsic/spot value, I doubt you could legitimately claim the $500 CGT threshold.

You could probably use the rule for things like proof bullion coins, as they generally trade with a numismatic premium over spot, but I can't see how you could apply this rule to say a regular 1/4oz gold bullion coin bought for $400.

Check with an accountant and hope they have an answer.

6. projack

No wonder people like the 200 koala proof coins. Not even different in price atm.

7. Stacks On

Stacks On New Member