National silver coins

Discussion in 'Silver' started by Lefty in Texas, Jul 9, 2017.

1. Lefty in Texas

Lefty in Texas New Member

I'm new to stacking and have fallen hard for it. I like the simplicity of bars and bullion, but am intrigued by the coins produced by various countries throughout the world. While they seem to command a bit higher of a price I am hesitant to really get into national coins due to lack of knowledge. I keep hearing people discuss coins such as the Silver Eagle, Maple Leaf, Kookaburra, Krugerrand and Libertads yet relatively little is said of coins from elsewhere in the world. Are some coins more sought after? Why? Should I just stick with bars until I become more informed?

Thanks. Always appreciate the knowledge.

2. Skyrocket

Skyrocket Well-Known Member Silver Stacker

Yes because bars have lower premiums. That's what I did until I became better informed. Til then go with the lowest premium and most bang for your buck is safest option.

Lefty in Texas likes this.
  3. Jislizard

Jislizard Well-Known Member Silver Stacker

They are all pretty much the same, same purity, same weight, same diameter more or less and the face value is merely decorative. What changes is the ease of getting hold of them. I can buy Australian coins very easily but libertads are harder to come across and cost a little more.

If you like the design or have a plan to collect a variety of coins minted in a particular year then it can be fun to collect them but it is expensive and most dealers will only give you spot value regardless of what picture is on the coin.

My tastes in collecting have changed a lot, from circulating coinage to silver pre decimal coinage to "semi-numi" silver bullion to collectable rounds to silver bars to gold coins to world silver junk.

I now have a nice accumulation with a lot of variety. I started out interested in coins, then I got interested in a store of wealth and now I am interested in bang for buck.