Looking to purchase my first 1 kilo coin - perth mint dragon

Discussion in 'Silver Coins' started by perzbenz, Oct 23, 2012.

1. perzbenz

perzbenz New Member

So I'm looking to purchase my 1st 1 kilo coin and the one that strikes me to be the most beautiful is the Gem Eyed Dragon.

There are three that I am looking at.

Box set 1 kilo 2000 Lunar Dragon Diamond Eyed which is around $2000 / usd
    Box set 1 kilo 2012 Dragon Gem eyed which is around $1500 / usd
    SP69 1 kilo 2012 Dragon Gem eyed which is around $1500 / usd

Would it be better value to just jump the gun and purchase the yr2000? Or instead pick up a couple of box set 2012's? Or would it be wiser for the future to pick up the graded ones?

Sorry for the overflow of questions. Iv been primarily investing in only bars so I am pretty new to collector coins.

Thanks!

2. digoxin

digoxin Member Silver Stacker

I would get the 2000 diamond eye. It is going for that price at Apmex and their stock is usually in excellent condition. Prefer the 2000 dragon to the 2012 one.

3. pushingtin

pushingtin Member Silver Stacker

Are you set on getting a dragon? Why not get a 1Kg PROOF Snake, they still available at the mint (around 13 left) and it will be much more sought after (mintage only 500).

I have one and I must tell you, the snake in that size is an absolute beaut! I think it will become more sought after than the dragons you mentioned. (look at the current prices on offer on ebay for the 1KG proof dragon - was sold out it in days vs the coloured gemstone which is still available as the mintage is 5000)

All the 1KG proof lunars of 500 mintage seem to do reasonably well in the end.

4. mike titanic

mike titanic New Member

If you are looking for an investment,the 2000 dragons have held a large premium.I am also looking to get a kilo soon just for the large size of it.So any of them will do for me.However I am leaning towards a libertad at the moment.

5. Holdfast

Holdfast Well-Known Member Silver Stacker