Is my portfolio too conservative?

Discussion in 'Wealth Creation & Management' started by SilverKendo, Feb 14, 2015.

1. SilverKendo

SilverKendo New Member

Hello all,

So I figured I'd get some opinions here about my portfolio. Last night I started looking at my portfolio in terms of percentage. I am only looking at investment assets, not including my house, collectables, etc. I think my portfolio is maybe a little too conservative for larger growth. Nearly 50% is in my pension. It is a well funded and well managed pension but it isn't going to make me rich in my old age. My next largest asset is PMs making up about 33%. Cash is at about 10% followed by land banking, bonds, mutual funds and then direct stock ownership making up progessively smaller percentages. Part of the shrinking percentage is based on when I started buying the assets. I've been paying into my pension for a few years now while I just started buying stocks directly (I like DRPs since I don't have the time or skill for day trading). I can't do much about rebalancing the pension but do you think I should rebalance some of the other assets, or at least change my contribution levels going forward? I like the idea of wealth preservation but after seeing how heavy my portfolio leans in that direction it has made me reconsider a little. If there isn't much wealth being created there isn't much to preserve. I'm open to thoughts and ideas.

2. GrindeRyan

GrindeRyan Member

I am not a financial planner and have no qualifications to give you any advice. A financial planner would be your most appropriate option.