Introduction to silver stacking and planning for the future

Discussion in 'Silver' started by fscked, Aug 24, 2015.

1. fscked

fscked Member

Hi Stackers,

I'm a newbie to stacking, I've been following the price of gold and silver since the GFC in 2007 and 2008. I remember sitting in my room listening to online radio (Alex Jones lol) and watching the prices go sky high, it was then I decided that I was going to start picking up PM's. I moved around a lot and never had the disposable income to start buying gold though. By chance I came across a guy that told me to buy silver and to research why, that was about 1 month ago and now I'm here.

Silver is at a 5 year low and I'm set to start buying, not big but, I will hopefully be pulling in a few oz each month. I plan to buy over the counter at nzmint.com, negating delivery fees and they are also cheaper than the 'wholesale' prices offered by other online NZ retailers. I've done quite a bit of research over the past few weeks, I've even quit smoking as I realised I was smoking a silver oz each week!

The one thing that has come out of my research is people telling you to 'plan for the future' or 'why are you stacking?'. What are your goals? 100,000oz of silver? This is where I would like some advice from those willing to share with me (and the other newbies I assume are flooding the forums during this 5 year low). What are your goals? Why do you stack? What did you buy when going in?

I've only really been focusing on getting silver for as cheap as humanly possible, i.e. buying 10oz bars and 1kg bars (there doesn't seem to be too much difference in price/oz ratio) and just buying as much as possible. Should I be looking at numismatics? And collecting sets? Won't that throw out my oz/$$ average?

Sorry for the rambling :lol:

2. House

House Well-Known Member Silver Stacker

Welcome :)