How to tell if a coin has been submitted to NCS first before NGC...

Discussion in 'Modern Chinese Coins & Medallions' started by silverfever, May 15, 2012.

1. silverfever

silverfever New Member

I was told by a senior member from the other Chinese Coin forum that coins sent to NCS first start with 3 and those sent directly to NGC first begin with 2.

Is this common knowledge or is this true?

Like I said before , I am new to MCC's and the slab thing so any info would be appreciated.

2. yennus

yennus Well-Known Member Silver Stacker

Yep, common knowledge.

Exceptions apparently exist, but so far everything I've sent to NCS starts with a "3".

3. Justfishin

Justfishin New Member

Sent a bunch of 2010s to NGC without doing NCS---they have developed spots--going back to them on their guarantee--will be curious how these pan out.........

4. Catseye

Catseye New Member

Dang JF, that's disconcerting, they were conserved & developed spots?
    What is the time frame on this?

5. silverfever

silverfever New Member

I guess sending to NCS is a waste of time/money.

6. tamo42

tamo42 New Member

Even if a coin is actually conserved, that doesn't guarantee that spots won't develop. It does improve your odds dramatically though.

7. Justfishin

Justfishin New Member

Whoa, whoa---I edited it--I DID NOT DO NCS---was typing two things at same time--sorry guys---didnt think I would need it on 2010s though......

8. Catseye

Catseye New Member

Whew! Thanks for the heart attack.. I mean correction. ;) :D

9. Justfishin

Justfishin New Member

Normally I could blame this on ipad or iphone-we will call it typing at 6 am :D

10. jc888888888

jc888888888 New Member Silver Stacker