Help: Valuing special Kooks and Misc Aus Set

Discussion in 'Silver Coins' started by SirMoz, Dec 28, 2010.

1. SirMoz

SirMoz New Member

Hi folks - I am trying to put together offers for a couple of sharp coins, but am having a hard time digging up current reference values onfeebay, etc. I figured I'd come to the Oz experts since I am not very experienced in Australian coins (add to that I am generally bullion focused). Any thoughts on pricing for the following would help to save me from overbidding...I am falling in love with all three. I don't see a lot of the Phoenix privy coins around out there and the mint has done a nice job in the packaging of the other. Hopefully I am not wasting your time with this question, but if anything, it offers a few pics of some coins to discuss.

[imgz=http://forums.silverstackers.com/uploads/796_1.jpg][​IMG][/imgz] [imgz=http://forums.silverstackers.com/uploads/796_2.jpg][​IMG][/imgz] [imgz=http://forums.silverstackers.com/uploads/796_3.jpg][​IMG][/imgz]

2. Big A.D.

Big A.D. Well-Known Member Silver Stacker

Book values from 2011 McDonalds (which I highly recommend purchasing) are:

1997 Phoenix privy Kookaburra: $55
    1997 Harbour City (Landmark set): $90
    2005 Gilded Kookaburra: $100

Remember, those are dealer prices so they're at the higher end of what the coins are "worth".

3. projack

projack Well-Known Member Silver Stacker

On AUS ebay the phoenix will sell around $45 plus postage
    The harbour city around low $50s
    The gilded kook has a wider range 40-60 depending on the day.

4. Dynoman

Dynoman Active Member

Just bought three guilded Kooks $65 each happy to pay that beautiful & unique.

5. projack

prices going up

6. SirMoz

SirMoz New Member

Thanks for the info and tips, especially the tip on McDonalds. I am quite unfamiliar with Australian coins and even though I'm not sure how much I plan to grow my collection in that direction, 30$ is nothing to protect against even a small valuation mistake.