damned if you do, damned if you don't?

Discussion in 'Silver' started by wes hightower, Mar 2, 2011.

1. wes hightower

wes hightower New Member

hey guys, i'm pretty new to ss as an active participant but have been reading along for awhile now. if this has been covered elsewhere please point me in the right direction, i haven't really read into older posts.

i'm pretty small potatoes compared to most of you but all it took was the feeling of a 1 ounce bar in my hand and that was it for me. i can hold it myself, nobody has to know i have it, and it's been worth something since before baby jesus. i can't afford tons of the stuff but after a couple months i feel alot more secure just having my little stack on standby.

i'm basically stacking for a shtf situation at this point in time. i also plan on having a fair amount of cash in my bug out bag. if my income level increases in time, maybe i'll take a different perspective. i figure i'll stack what i can for the next 2-3 years at any price. at that point, if mainstream media is still reporting on charlie sheen and grocery stores still have food on the shelves, i'll probably switch to paying above the minimum on a student loan.

like most, i'm hoping against a doomsday situation (although it would be gratifying to yell at people doubting my world view, "see!") but nonetheless want to protect myself the best i can. which has me wondering if holding silver is risky in a doomsday scenario, not from an investment standpoint but from a getting rolled standpoint. a gun would protect me from street thugs but what about crooked cops/military/homeland security whatever? will i be holding just enough to get shot over?