Coming economic rain

Discussion in 'Markets & Economies' started by Phil_Stacker, Nov 30, 2016.

1. Phil_Stacker

Phil_Stacker New Member

Not to sound alarmist but the economic conditions are not stable right now. We aren't in storm conditions but things just aren't right.

I'm no expert, so this is my take on what's going on right now.

FedEx would normally increase the rates to slow down an overheated market (reduce inflation). It can also used to stimulate an under-performing market by decreasing interest (reducing the cost of debt). Ironically, although debt is cheap (which can lead to market bubbles), reduced inflation means money flows out of the economy to locations with higher interest rates (a reason AUD was over parity in the last decade).

Quantitative Easing (printing money) would normally lead to inflation (hyper inflation for some places as recently cited on this site). Quantitative Easing has stopped - by all indications/statements. However, this seems to be the only thing "inflating" the US share market. The money HAS to be paid back in one form or another, or hyper-inflation will occur. So what happens to shares? They may now be self-sustaining, but there is no clear evidence for this (US Jobs market has consistently been below expectations).

The problem is that these are really big leavers that have multiple effects across multiple areas (i.e. macro-economic tools of fiscal and monetary policy that have multiple micro-economic impacts across all industries and markets, even internationally).