Buying PM under SMSF - requirements to remain compliant with ATO

Discussion in 'Superannuation' started by Voe, Mar 15, 2012.

1. Voe

Voe New Member

Hi all,

I'm new to SMSF and this forum so please be gentle;).

I intend to purchase from Perth Mint and I already have an account under my SMSF trust.

Please advise what do I need to do in order to remain compliant as per ATO requirements when acquiring PM.

Do I need insurance if I store the PM in a bank vault?
    Do I need to modify my Trust Deed to explain my purpose for investing in PM?
    Do I need to get an auditor and if yes at which point in time?
    After I make a purchase is there anything else I'm required to do to remain compliant?

All suggestions and tips are appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

2. spannermonkey

spannermonkey Well-Known Member Silver Stacker

Use the search function , it's been covered before :D

3. EJAM5

EJAM5 Active Member

Just keep a good paper trail of all your purchases / sales. Make sure EVERYTHING is in the SMSF name so your accountant is happy.

4. Dirtbikepilot

Dirtbikepilot Active Member

Hi Voe and welcome,

Generally, no you do not need insurance regardless of where you store it, unless you want it of course. however if you buy coins, bullion or otherwise with a face value they are generally going to be
    considered a collectors item, I believe all Perth Mint coins will fall into this category. This being the case you have to store them outside your private residence and they must be insured. I have some
    coins I am now selling as I cannot get insurance (cannot comply with ATO requirement), although I was asked by insurance company if I wanted to insure the bank. :rolleyes:

You need to record how you intend on investing (investment strategy). This can easily be changed but must be recorded in a minutes of meeting and kept.

Keep all your receipts and records of your transactions.