Best way to sell a collection (for a novice)

Discussion in 'Numismatics' started by Freddo_melb, Oct 16, 2013.

1. Freddo_melb

Freddo_melb New Member

Hi all,

My apologies in advance if i'm asking the sorts of questions that have been asked a million times already. I'm new to the world of numismatics and I've been tasked with selling my grandfather's coin collection.

Its about 600 or so circulated pre-decimal coins (both in dansco albums and loose). Most of them don't seem to have that much value, so ideally I'd be looking to sell these in bulk.

There is one coin of value, a 1923 halfpenny. It's not in as good as condition as I would have liked, (there is some oxidation on the obverse side and i've read that i shouldn't try to clean it) so probably at the lower end of the grading range, but the coin dealer I took it too said he'd buy it for about $300. Going by the price in the McDonald's book, it looks like its worth more than this.

I'd appreciate suggestions as to the best way to sell the halfpenny and the rest of the collection. Obviously ebay is a realistic option for a single coin (as long as I can reassure people it is not a fake), but not practical for the set. Is going to one of the coin dealers in the city my only real option for the latter?

Thanks!

2. spannermonkey

spannermonkey Well-Known Member Silver Stacker

In Melbourne your best option would be to take it into Downies auctions ( downstairs )
    Peter Strich's , Universal Coin company or I.S wright are your other options

3. trew

trew Active Member Silver Stacker

Forget Downies as the next auction won't be until Feb next year

Take them to all three - Strich, IS Wright and Universal Coin and see which gives you the best price

Or if the rest of the collection is nothing special,
    take just the 1923 halfpenny to all three and get the best price for that

4. somethingsilverrelated

somethingsilverrelated Member Silver Stacker