Beginner in Sydney

Discussion in 'Silver' started by PAMP_it, Dec 8, 2013.

1. PAMP_it

PAMP_it Member

First of all, I know there will be some that will tell me to go perouse the forums and find answers to these questions, which I am doing, but I thought I would see if I can get some thought on the current market and economic climate as well as some advice on starting out ie. what/when to buy. I am by no means a stranger to the economic side of things as I'm studying finance/econ at uni, but I've only recently got the idea to keep some of my savings as physical gold/silver.

So...I'm 20yo, with about $1000-2000 to spend, this represents about 10-15% of my liquid funds atm and I don't need to spend it all at once, the main reason I want to start stacking is to create a sizeable side investment for when I'm a bit older but also for the cool feeling of having solid gold/silver

I just wanted some advice, thoughts on....

1. What types of coins/bars to invest in (based not only on low premiums but on good refiners eg. PAMP/OPM/Scottsdale that will give me good return even if i pay the higher premium for them, i know some people like the PAMP design and that they are numbered)
    2. Where to get them ie. places with lowest premiums (perth mint is quite high premium...ABC not the greatest either)
    3. What is a good premium margin to try and maintain throughout my stack (I want to keep premiums at a minimum but at the same time I would like to have some
    'pretty' silver ie PAMP minted or maple leafs/eagles.
    4. Storage advice, have a safe but what sort of storage box?
    5. I'm not really looking to sell short term but it would be nice to have a stack with long and short term sell options, eg. maybe sell some for a house deposit in 4-5 years and have other stacks that I can hold on to for like 20 years and then cash in.