Advice Requested on Starting Out With Silver

Discussion in 'Silver' started by unclebob, Jan 13, 2013.

1. unclebob

unclebob New Member

Greetings. My first post. I'm new to silver, notwithstanding that the actuaries tell me that I only have 23 years to go. Any basic advice on the following would be appreciated.

I have only recently discovered PMs and am slowly accumulating lovely Perth Mint bars of Au(1 oz.) and Ag(1 kg.). I believe that I am doing this for the right reasons. My query concerns the appropriate action to take should one day there be a 'mania' in say, silver. (Admittedly, now that I am involved, this will probably never happen. Sorry folks.). Will it be possible and easy to privately (and discretely) sell such Ag to those mums and dads queuing up outside PM stores. Or will I have to join in a bunfight with Silverstackers et al like yourselves who will be trying to do the same thing? Are 1 kg. bars of Ag too big for (if and) when the time comes? Would 10 oz. bars be more sensible? Decisions, decisions.

2. bloomst

bloomst Well-Known Member Silver Stacker

1oz Au or 1kg AG does have less liquidity over the smaller bar/coin, but does offer lower premium. I would like to think that if you sell your stack priced sensibly compared to Perth Mint Retail Price, then it would expected to move the bars in reasonable time.

Unless the whole market is not buying anything...ie we hit depression big time.

If you are concern about liquidity, then diversify :D

3. Guest

Guest Guest

I believe an ounce of gold and a kilo of silver will always move reasonably fast.

4. renovator

renovator Well-Known Member

I think when its a bit scarce a bunfight will always be on the cards but hopefully the price theyre paying will be worth all the kicking & screaming :).

Ive heard the liquidity thing before & it makes sense if you want lots of small transactions . Personally i would like very few transactions & would just take it to a dealer & be done with it .

5. tolly_67