50 oz heraeus bar on apmex

Discussion in 'Silver Coins' started by silvstack, Sep 14, 2011.

1. silvstack

silvstack Member

hi, i'm new to this - i picked up lots of one ounce rounds and it was immediately apparent that i would want something that wasn't prohibitively cumbersome and also generally recognizeable/standard. i notice so much diversity between what people swear by ... 999 vs. 9999, apmex vs. whoever, perth vs. krugerands ... i guess if i had my ideal investments it would be lots of 50 oz bars and maybe some "change" because they are nicely generic and easy to handle - and i'd purchase from apmex because they seem terrific so far. i'd be interested in anyone can point me to any sites that discuss such differences, and, of course, if anyone cares to chime in with what you swear by. thanks for your thoughts!

2. goldilox

goldilox Member Silver Stacker

50oz bars, yes please! i have a little dream about those First Majestic / Monarch poured 5-0s. dont have any yet of course. probably too much trouble importing to justify it anyway
    what country are you in?

3. backsideroyale

backsideroyale Member

I have a 50 ounce perth mint bar but ive never seen another. No idea how long they made them for but of course i dont consider it to be rare or more valuable.

Bullion is great being close to spot but I regret getting so many 100 oz bars over 10s or 20s. The difference in premium is minimal. In regards to different "brands" of bars i dont think it matters a great deal as long as its from a well recognized source.

For change i mostly got 1966s and pre46 florins/shillings because I didnt like the premiums on kooks but i now realise there are heaaaaps of 1oz round options and for some of them the premium over spot is worth it....I think most of the silver i buy from now on will be 1oz rounds but I am also unsure on the best deals out there in regards to these so Im going to keep an eye on this thread.

4. silvstack

silvstack Member