1998 lg date ebay?

Discussion in 'Modern Chinese Coins & Medallions' started by silverstar1, Feb 25, 2012.

1. silverstar1

silverstar1 New Member

Hey I just wanted to see what the panda experts here think about this listing on ebay 190643536251 , It looks nice but I noticed a few things I cant tell if it is just the lighting or if it is a fake , what i noticed is the collar looks shiny, the left shoulder looks wrong and the center bamboo leaf looks solid with no ridge. I am still new to the 90s pandas so I decided not to go for this one. Please let me know what you think. Also the same seller has another 2008, 190643543682 that looks like it has to be after market plating.

2. fishball

fishball New Member Silver Stacker

The 98 definitely looks a bit suss, it doesn't look like the usual LD or SD.

http://forums.silverstackers.com/message-256153.html#p256153

The elbow is wrong and the leaf in the middle is a bit flat. The seller may not have known it was a fake given his feedback.

The 2008 is definitely aftermarket plating, quite common in Europe.

We may be seeing some fakes pop up soon on the 1998 LD, it's prices now comfortably exceed the 2000 frosted in MS69 grade.

This was predicted by master 25GRIZZLIES :).

3. comeaux

comeaux Member Silver Stacker

I agree with fishball on the '98

I just took a quick glance at the pandas that this ebay dealer is selling and some of them do look a little suspect, I did not look at them long or compare them to authentic pandas but when I get some more time I will.

Proceed with caution and do a little research before buying these pandas from this seller is what I would recommend ... there are just too many legit sellers/dealers available to take unnecessary chances.

4. fishball

Took a closer look and compared it to my OMP 98 LD Panda... (unfortunately no pics).

Errors or suspicious items on the date side:
    - Inner rim is protruded far more than a real 98 LD
    - The 1998 is likewise protruded