100 oz's in 100 days

Discussion in 'Silver' started by HamBone, Aug 31, 2012.

1. HamBone

HamBone New Member

Hey guys, I'm new to the site and new to precious metals. I'm an engineering student in the US with a young family and extremely limited cash. That being said, I've been able to stash away nearly 150 ounces of silver in a little over three months. I realized recently that instead of spending 5 bucks a day on lunch, I could pack one instead and buy 1 more ounce a week with that money. I switch my work schedule to work 4-10 hour days instead of 5-8 hour days to save on gas money. Things like this have made it possible for me to stack while going to school and working a low paying job that doesn't leave much wiggle room. I'm curious to know what those of you who have been doing this for a while have been doing to increase your investment dollars. Any advice for a newby with big interest and a thin wallet?

2. finicky

finicky Well-Known Member Silver Stacker

Interesting introduction - try to send the kids to work as soon as possible.

Also, being vegetarian for other reasons, I can vouch that it is cheaper. As you've already found, processed prepared food costs more too.

Have you done an inventory yet of stuff that is dispensable and could be maybe converted to some cash via garage sale or ebay?

3. metalzzz

metalzzz Well-Known Member

Would love to see this thread expand I love being a tight wad.

Someone posted up here a while back using a double edged safety razor to shave with. I actually bought one of these after reading the recommendation and they are a good way to save a couple of hundred per year. If you buy the blades in bulk (40 pack) they work out to be under a $1 per blade for high grade blades or $.50 for budget. They last just as long and give a better shave. The shavers start at $35-$40 and go up from there.

4. finicky