Pre-1933 $20 Liberty Head Coin

Discussion in 'Gold Coins' started by ZaidaBoBaida, Dec 28, 2018.

1. ZaidaBoBaida

ZaidaBoBaida Member

I've come into possession of a 1903 $20 Liberty Head Gold coin. It is not in a capsule and it has not been graded. My husband says he thinks it's between MS 63-65. I plan on buying a capsule for it tomorrow. But, would it be worth the money to send it in and have it graded? When I look online at similar coins - they're all graded and slabbed. I mean I'm not planning on selling it any time soon. It's part of my retirement stack.

2. dragafem

dragafem Well-Known Member Silver Stacker

Yes send it for grading if you think its in a pretty good shape.best way to preserve a coin.

3. ZaidaBoBaida

ZaidaBoBaida Member

I'll upload it later - I think it's in good condition, but I'm no expert - lol, but like I said - I'm not planning on selling it any time soon. It's part of my retirement stack. I did get a capsule for it today. I showed it to our coin shop guy, and he said, "Wow! Santa really did come to your house, didn't he?"

4. SlyGuy

SlyGuy Active Member

Those pre-33 liberty and the eagles and half eagles were circulated, so they are pretty much just spot + premium. Their premium is higher than UK colony sovereigns... but not by a whole lot.

Unless it really looks amazing and/or is known to be a rare year, I think you are just eating into your profits with grading it. Do your research, though.. you never know. Maybe look at eBay sold listings for the same coin before you spend the grading money?

Disclaimer... I don't even put my gold in capsules, only plastic flips. Gold doesn't tarnish, and I'm buying the metal, not the sparkle. Lol.

5. ZaidaBoBaida

ZaidaBoBaida Member

How do you check on e-bay what these things actually sell for? I see some buy it nows for around $1700, but they're graded.

6. SlyGuy

SlyGuy Active Member