Why can't the market correct itself?

Discussion in 'Markets & Economies' started by Szag, Apr 1, 2011.

1. Szag

Szag Member Silver Stacker

Hi all,

I am new to investing and definitely new to precious metals. I think I understand all the arguments for the increases in value we will see in the future and I thought I had a handle on it.
    I encountered a gentleman tonight who, although agreed that silver's value would rise somewhat, felt strongly that the market would correct itself as it has done for years.
    His argument mainly was that historically, other markets that rise in value to the USD would simply buy everything in the weakened US market while it was cheap and that the US market would then increase in value and stabilise. Sound economic theory.
    I argued about the overarching deficit, the non stop creation of fiat currency, Zimbabwe, the paucity of silver, all of which would lead to worldwide currency destabilisation and then a new currency standard etc...... to which his reply was that the market has sufficient redundancy to correct itself.
    I hope I am not too naive in asking: Does he have a sound argument? Is there sufficient redundancy?
    If this is all old hat....please direct me to where I can learn more.

2. Big A.D.

Big A.D. Well-Known Member Silver Stacker

IMHO, the guy does have the basis for a sound argument, but he's assuming that the current situation is similar to the historical situation and I don't think that is the case - the U.S. outsourced their manufacturing base to China, they're creating vast amounts of money from thin air to create liquidity in the financial markets (and a lot of other economies are doing the same thing) and they seem to have no inclination towards tightening regulations to stop the same kinds of craziness that happened recently from occurring again.