Uneven edges on American Silver Eagles

Discussion in 'Silver Coins' started by Silverjoe, Sep 26, 2015.

1. Silverjoe

Silverjoe New Member

Newbie here so maybe this has been discussed before but could not find anything on the topic by searching... Anyhow, has anyone else noticed how the edges on American Silver Eagles are uneven. As in as you rotate the coin, looking at the edges, some sides are higher/thicker then the other side. Like it goes thick, then thinner and back again all the way around the coin if that makes sense? Usually the edges that are at the top of the head and the bottom of the feet of lady liberty that the edges are thinnest and gets thicker on the sides at the 3 and 9 o'clock positions. Its more pronounced on the early and mid 90's coins. As you get later into the 2000's it's not as noticeable. At least that is the case on the ones I have as I have some 90's coins and later 2000's.

Just wondering if you guys also noticed this and have the same thing going on with your coins? Especially the 90's coins.. I am sure my Eagles are real as I got them from reputable vendors that includes JM bullion... plus they pass all other tests, weight, magnet, specific gravity, etc...

Would appreciate any knowledge and/or observations anyone might have to chime in on this... thanks..

2. Porcello

Porcello New Member

Man, you really observe your coins with great attention to details! You made me curious now, I guess I'll have to open a couple of tubes and check them out.

3. Silverjoe

Silverjoe New Member