Silver Coins that are Difficult to Counterfeit

Discussion in 'Silver Coins' started by argali, Sep 26, 2018.

1. argali

argali New Member

Hi all, I'm a newbie here,
    I live in Indonesia, and as far as I know there is NO silver coins dealer in my country. So, I bought all of my silver coins and rounds online, mostly from ebay. The problem with buying silver coins from ebay is that I cannot tell whether the coins are genuine or not. So, I usually buy silver coins (and rounds) that are, in my opinion, difficult to counterfeit.

Imho, the silver coins (and rounds) that are difficult to duplicate are as follows:
    1. Silver Maple Leaf with its radial lines (2014 and afterwards)
    2. Australian Kangaroo 2016, 2017, 2018 with its micro-engraved letter "A"
    3. Sunshine Minting rounds with its VALID word (you need Sunshine Minting Decoder Lens to see it)

Is there any other silver coin(s) that you guys think difficult to counterfeit?
    I know that American Silver Eagle is not that difficult to counterfeit, since I saw a video on youtube that shows a guy with a genuine and counterfeit Silver Eagle, and the counterfeit looks very similar to the genuine one.

Would you care to share your list of silver coins (and rounds) that, in your opinion, are difficult to counterfeit, and the ones that are relatively easy to duplicate?

Thank you in advance

Last edited: Sep 26, 2018
    Theox and Gresham's Law like this.
  2. Ipv6Ready

Ipv6Ready Well-Known Member Silver Stacker

Buy from reputable sellers with good feedback. eBay isn’t that bad, as long as you stay away from “too good to be true” bargains.

Also surely there must be precious metal dealers in Indonesia

SilvaMozzie likes this.
  3. argali

argali New Member

Thanks for your reply