Question: New to Sovs

Discussion in 'Sovereigns' started by null, Apr 3, 2013.

1. null

null Member

Hi to all you most knowledgeable stackers! I am new to sovs, and have seen many sales here, but have never bought one.

I am thinking about getting one or two since AU price have dropped so much. I am interested in getting them for the AU content more than their collectability. So my questions are:

=> What's a reasonable over spot should I be paying for one (remember I am not buying for rarity of years, etc).

=> Is it possible to get them at spot, below spot, dare I ask?

=> If it's scratched, dingged, whatever, will I still be able to sell at spot later?

These coins I think are much more valued for money if can be had at low premiums (plus a bloody good design to boot).

Thanks in advance.

2. Naphthalene Man

Naphthalene Man Active Member Silver Stacker

A wise member here once told me the following...

about 3-6% for average grade bullion sovs
    6-10% for something in better condition.
    The rarer varieties go for slightly more.

I can't find his advice in my PMs though so i am quoting from memory. These premiums sound about right for most gold though.

3. null

null Member

Thanks for your reply Naphthalene Man. So if I can find anyone selling these sovs for below 3% or very near spot, then all the better? I was just concerned that because it's a coin, then when I try to resell back, if the coin is not in good nick that they won't move as fast...

Cheers for that.

4. Stacknpile

Stacknpile New Member

You say "because it's a coin" - Personally I'd rather buy a sov than a bar - easier to check authenticity IMO.

Also, with an old sov you get the fact that its an old and real coin rather than just something stamped out last week in a factory. Not being .999 you can handle it without worrying you'll mark it.