Newbie question - what to look out for when buying Panda coins?

Discussion in 'Modern Chinese Coins & Medallions' started by hkpanda, Jan 2, 2012.

1. hkpanda

hkpanda New Member

Hi guys,

Happy new year! I just joined the forum on recommendation from a friend.

I'm a newbie 'investor' and my very first investment is in 2011 Panda coins which I've ordered and picking up tomorrow. I'm looking for advice on what to inspect/look out for when I collect my coins? I'm going to a somewhat reputable dealer in Hong Kong (a few of my friends and family have bought from them before and they've been around since 1988) but was a little thrown off by the fact that they prefer cash i.e. they asked for a cash cheque rather than cheque made out to the company. I hope it's a cash flow thing for them as they stock up for next year's coins! :) The website for this dealer is http://www.goldcoins.hk. Unfortunately they only seem to have a Chinese website. Some questions I have:

1. Should I expect a certificate of some sort for the coins? This might be tedious if more than one coin?
    2. Should the coins be completely sealed? And should the coins be err....flawless?
    3. Should I be worried that they could be fakes in distribution?
    4. I have seen a few pictures of the coins in EBay and various online seller sites and they seem to come in different packaging. What is the standard package?

If there has been a posting somewhere in the forum about how to inspect the coins, please point me to the link.

Thanks in advance for any help and happy new year again! I will post pictures of my coins (and price?) once the deal is done!

HKPanda

2. mmm....shiney!

mmm....shiney! Administrator Staff Member Silver Stacker

3. fishball

fishball New Member Silver Stacker

Welcome. !

For 2011 Pandas if you are buying the generic ones (around $350 HK) then they will come in capsule and may or may not come in a plastic sheet of 30.

These have no certificate as they are just bullion coins.