New to stacking

Discussion in 'Silver' started by pastmaster2011, Jan 22, 2019.

1. pastmaster2011

pastmaster2011 New Member

Hello all I am new to stacking and have lots of questions. My first question is what is the most over spot would someone pay for a silver eagle ?

2. Bciowner

Bciowner New Member

Do not pay more than 2.50 USD over spot. There are tons of websites out there that have deals all the time.

DavidRich likes this.
  3. Jislizard

Jislizard Well-Known Member Silver Stacker

Welcome to the forums.

I once paid nearly 100% over spot for ordinary production Eagles, nothing fancy.

In my defense, I was buying something I had never bought before in a foreign currency, and it was on an eBay auction, so someone else was willing to pay nearly 99% over spot. I have an excuse, I have no idea why they wanted to pay so much.

After years of buying Junk silver Australian coins for below spot, the exchange rate between Australia and the USA actually changed in Australia's favour and US goods (which are expensive in Australia) became even cheaper to get from eBay.

So I took my spreadsheet and altered it to work for the American eagles, but I linked to the wrong cell and instead of linking to the spot price of $15, I linked to the number of grams in a troy Oz, 31.1.

So when I did my calculation of what to bid to get it at spot, it gave me a number twice as big, which being pure silver and a whole tube and American Eagles, three firsts for me, looked expensive but legit.

I got it for less than I was willing to bid, so I guess I win...

Anyway soon as spot hits $36 I get to break even again (as I did in 2011)

Ivykoin likes this.
  4. Skyrocket

Skyrocket Well-Known Member Silver Stacker

Welcome to the forum!

5. Oddjob

Oddjob Well-Known Member Silver Stacker

G'Day and Welcome.

6. Shaddam IV

Shaddam IV Well-Known Member Silver Stacker

Welcome to the forum!

7. DavidRich

DavidRich Member