New to Silver. How to test for silver with 100% confidence?

Discussion in 'Silver' started by sinistersix, Oct 23, 2013.

1. sinistersix

sinistersix New Member

I am new to silver investing, and have recently acquired some bars and coins. I have read about the ping test, magnet test, and all those, but they all seem somewhat unscientific or not conclusive to me.

Short of getting some acid, is there a machine or kit or tester I can buy to be 100% certain that my coins are real? I dont want to damage them with acid.

How do pawn shops and coin dealers test for 100% certainty???

2. Au-mageddon

Au-mageddon Active Member

Most places use XRF or more recently, ultrasonic testing (less common).

XRF gives a chemical composition from the surface, but this will show if the bar is silver or gold plated.

Ultrasonic testing gives a measurement of the thickness of a bar, based on the speed it should travel through the metal. So if you have a 10oz PM bar it should show about 10mm thick (not 15 or 20mm). As such it may be less reliable on coins and rounds, as they are generally much thinner.

Some pawnshops still use density test to check composition of bar.

3. sinistersix

sinistersix New Member

Is there anything that I can buy or do at home without buying something expensive?

As far as weight...I recently bought the pegasus round and it weights 1 1/8 oz. I have read that fake coins often dont weigh 1oz, but this seems a bit odd to me as it seems that anyone faking a coin would make it still weigh 1 oz. Wouldnt counterfeiters just make the coin the size it needs to be to weigh 1 oz?

4. Au-mageddon

Au-mageddon Active Member

I am not familiar with that round, but being overweight by that much is unusual.

Thats not to say it isnt genuine, but i would take it to your local dealer to check it (just so u know one way or the other and can stop worrying)

5. prince_of_sales

prince_of_sales New Member