Need some advice/opinion from the experts!

Discussion in 'Sovereigns' started by K1W1AU55IE, Jan 22, 2015.

1. K1W1AU55IE

K1W1AU55IE New Member

Hi, I am a newbie to this site. This is only my 3rd posting, as I have started "lurking" in the background.... reading other posts for a few of weeks before I decided to join up.
    My question is.... Does anyone know about "Shield Sovereign Collections"?? I have a friend who is thinking of selling this collection, as I was wondering what would be a "fair" price to buy this. All I know that it was purchased from The Perth Mint, and it is excellent condition. Still in it's own wooden box with a certificate. It comprises 2 gold sovereign coins & a gold & silver bi-metal coin commemorating the Golden Jubilee of Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II's accession. Apparently no more than 100 collections were issued. This person has collection no. 052. (Whether than means anything?) I can found out more info - if I need to. For starters - does anyone know anything about this sort of a collection? Any advice/opinion would be greatly appreciated. That way I can make up my mind whether it would be a good investment.

2. whinfell

whinfell Well-Known Member Silver Stacker

May I suggest that you click on the 'Report' button at the bottom right of your post, and ask the admins to move it to the "Sovereigns" section of the forum? You'll be more likely to get a response there ;)

3. K1W1AU55IE

K1W1AU55IE New Member

Thank you Whinfell for the tip. Shall do.

4. phrenzy

phrenzy In Memoriam - July 2017 Silver Stacker

A picture might help, there are several collections put out by the mint.

5. projack

projack Well-Known Member Silver Stacker

Not everything made at Perth Mint is the Mints own numismatic product.
    This is one of them, probably made for consignment for one of the lage dealer.
    This could be Downies for example.

6. K1W1AU55IE

K1W1AU55IE New Member